A Fair

I woke up feeling a little tired and lazy (thank you antidepressant side effect lol).  With depression you never really know how you will feel from day to day. But I have many more good days than bad so I am definitely not complaining.

So my husband wanted to go to a local fair. I thought I would be up for it but then I really wasn’t. I could see he was upset so I pushed myself. As those with depression know, this isn’t always possible. Thankfully today it was.

We got there and I started looking at the jewelry,  handbags, scarves, etc. Basically all things I love to buy, wear and browse through lol.  And because I hadn’t wanted to come, hubby was extremely sweet about me buying a few things. I know most men, including him, could care less about those things so I appreciated his patience.

We stopped at a jewelry cleaner table and it was really cool! It worked magic on my platinum diamond wedding rings, my silver hoops and even my grandmother’s antique sapphire and diamond ring from the 1920’s. I couldn’t believe it when my H asked the man if he could clean his platinum band. I think he’s let me clean it twice in ten years lol. I happily bought a huge bottle of the non-toxic cleaner.

Then we met a friend of his, stopped and ate together.  He’s quite a colorful character,  always with a hilarious story to make me laugh.

I am really glad I was able to go and we had such a great time just walking around and laughing.  I enjoy simple pleasures in life, especially since losing my Mom. I just don’t think I realized that we really need to have fun together.

I truly remembered why we fell in love in the first place.  I didn’t think about P all day!

Today I have to say
Me: 1 and Depression: 0

11 thoughts on “A Fair

  1. emmagc75 says:

    Yes, I was really glad and surprised I was able to push through. I think it was because I saw how disappointed H was and he is almost always incredibly understanding about my illness. I was a little quieter than normal but it was nice cause he was more chatty lol.

    Like

  2. bipolarsojourner says:

    it brings me joy to see your victory over depression, if only for a day. i would consider it a double victory since the big d had such a tight grasp on you in the morning!

    now that you have such a good jewelry cleaner, maybe you’ll be able to pry your husband’s wedding ring off more that twice every ten years. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. KcRambles says:

    That is one of the best rewards… having a great time and seeing the positives in the simplest of things. Glad you enjoyed your outing. I love when l really have no motivation but end up feeling content I pushed trough it and had a grand time. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

