Writer’s Block

I developed my love of reading and writing at a very young age. When I was 5 I read Charlotte’s Web out loud to my Mom. It’s a 4th grade book so she was pretty impressed lol. Writing used to be so easy for me.  I would just sit down, take out paper and later my laptop, and away I’d go, off on an adventure. It was an escape and a passion that brought me joy. I even had a few poems published years ago. I never struggled to find the right words to convey the sentiment of each particular piece. I love English Literature so much, I majored in it in college.

When my Mom passed away, in addition to a lovely twitch above my right eye (thank god that stopped a few weeks later, thank you zanax lol), I developed my first case of writer’s block.  No matter how much I tried, I just couldn’t write a thing. This went on for a long time, a few years.  It is now 6 years later, and while I have obviously started writing again, it still isn’t what it used to be.

Funny, I never ever expected to have trouble in this particular area.  Words have always come so easily and I guess I thought they always would.  I actually pretty much took it for granted that whenever I was ready, I could just go back to it without missing a beat.  Boy, was I wrong! Just one more thing that sucks about getting older huh? LOL

Or maybe it’s more of a use it or lose it proposition?  I truly hope all my creativity is just lying dormant and hasn’t completely dried up.  

I think I will endeavor to write a little each day, hoping that will inspire me.

41 thoughts on “Writer’s Block

  1. jncthedc says:

    Sometimes we want things so much we try to force results. Similar to relationships, when we relax and become comfortable with who we are and where we are in life, things begin to fall in place. Be patient with your writing and enjoy the new level of skill that WILL DEVELOP over time. I look forward to reading the new words and ideas that flow from your heart to the computer screen. Enjoy the experience.

    Like

  2. sonofabeach96 says:

    I agree with some of the other posters. I’m a photographer. Some days, I can’t find a single thing that inspires me. But, I just start snapping anything and everything. Eventually, something strikes a chord and I run with it. Just keep writing. Itll flow before know it. Really sorry about your mom, by the way.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. New Journey says:

    Have you ever heard of Julie Cameron’s, the Artist Way….per Amazon:
    Amazon.com Review

    With the basic principle that creative expression is the natural direction of life, Julia Cameron and Mark Bryan lead you through a comprehensive twelve-week program to recover your creativity from a variety of blocks, including limiting beliefs, fear, self-sabotage, jealousy, guilt, addictions, and other inhibiting forces, replacing them with artistic confidence and productivity.
    This book links creativity to spirituality by showing how to connect with the creative energies of the universe, and has, in the four years since its publication, spawned a remarkable number of support groups for artists dedicated to practicing the exercises it contains.

    I recommend any artist to give it a try….amazing things happen as you work through her daily lessons even if your not an artist….she has several different books out….

    Just a thought….have a great Monday…kathy

    From

    Like

  4. bipolarsojourner says:

    i have much enjoyed getting to know you and your journey through your writing. I look forward to your posts and comments that sometimes challenge me. i feel joy that we have crossed paths.

    it sucks when our forms of self get robbed from us. i have a list of self-care that used to work and now doesn’t. if you want to recapture writing, keep riding the bike. if you fall and skin your knee, get back on and try again. also, look for new forms of self-care. perhaps some new form of self-care lurks around the corner that will surprising feed you eve. more.

    Liked by 1 person

    • emmagc75 says:

      I have enjoyed getting to know you too but I still don’t know ur name lol. You usually make me think of things from a different angle and i love that! I will definitely keep riding the bike. Thank you. Hugs xo

      Like

  5. Have you seen Chris? says:

    I’m struck here by your relationship with your mother. I’m so sorry she has passed. As smart as you are, I can only imagine the patience of a mother to listen to a reading of Charlottes Web by a five year old!! She obviously was a very important person in your life. And there is obviously a connection she has to your love of writing – maybe write about that?

    Liked by 1 person

  6. charlypriest says:

    I have my theory, by definition writers block means you just can´t write. And what are you doing now?…you´re writing and telling a story. So I don´t believe in writers block, another thing is that there are days that you don´t find great inspiration and you think your writing is not at it´s top of it´s game, that´s another thing but you can write, hell just write about not being able to write that character and that means there is no writers block, plus as the other commentator said, you´re doing pretty good ( I leave the “honey” part out 😉 ) Have a great Monday !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

