Happy Days

cropped-1367699784928.jpg

The view from the back deck of the lake house.

Today is a good day.  I am feeling happy and grateful for all that I have.  I have been reading a lot about gratitude and joy. With any type of mental illness (in my case depression) it’s definitely easy to forget sometimes how lucky I truly am.  I have a wonderful family and a great group of friends.  Instead of focusing on what I don’t have or what’s missing, I am instead choosing to embrace the people who love me and want to be in my life.  They are each one a blessing and I am making a point of sharing this with them.

I am trying to be kinder and gentler in my approach of people.  I tend to be very direct and good or bad, you will always know where you stand with me.  I am getting in touch with my inner self and I think this will be a positive thing. I’m learning it is better to be kind than it is to be right.  I’m also a smartass but this I cannot change lol.

Thankfully, my Hubby and those closest to me know that under my tough exterior lies a huge, passionate and sensitive heart.  I am caring, compassionate and loyal to a fault (yes I am aware of the irony of this, thanks).  To be loved and accepted for who you are is a gift that I treasure.

The sun is shining and tonight I have a reception to attend with my husband.  Believe me, it totally sounds much swankier than it is lol.  But the booze is free, the food is great and last year I won 3 raffle prizes 🙂

I’m going to my friend’s beach club cabana tomorrow.  I have absolutely nothing to complain about.  In 2 weeks I have a week vacation and we will be spending it at my parent’s lake cottage.  It is so peaceful, beautiful and relaxing there.  I have so many wonderful memories there, especially of my Mom.  She designed the house and I can strongly feel her presence whenever I am there.

From Lessons In Life:

Find someone that isn’t afraid to admit they miss you. Someone that knows you’re not perfect but treats you as if you are. Someone who couldn’t imagine losing you. Someone who gives their heart to you completely. Someone who says I love you and proves it. Last but not least, find someone who wouldn’t mind waking up to you in the morning, seeing your wrinkles and grey hair but still falls in love with you all over again.
~Unknown

22 thoughts on “Happy Days

  1. monicakirathi says:

    Somehow the heart always knows how to finds its way back home. Home is gratitude and even a little gratitude goes a long way! Awesome,stay blessed!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. sonofabeach96 says:

    Love the quote from Lessons in Life. So true. Enjoy your vacation. Time well spent with those you love, and who love you, is priceless. Sounds like a perfect opportunity to work on that baby-making task! Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

