The story of a relationship with a narcissist: I Am Not Special by Hope

This is one of the most difficult parts of breaking free from the narcissistic abuse.
“Accepting our experience with the disordered is largely about finding the courage to face the truth. We must be willing to choose truth over illusion. The person you loved, whether it be a spouse, lover, friend or a mother, is not who she pretended to be.”

An Upturned Soul

I am not special.

When I was a child, the message from my parents was clear: Take care of yourself. We don’t want to do it. You are not special. And so I became an adult very early in life, full of determination to be self-sufficient and self-determined.

At forty-five, a disordered person took an interest in me. Narcissistic Personality Disorder, at the least. Diagnosed, I believe. Malignant narcissist? Sociopath? Possibly. She admitted that she had no conscience, was sadistic, and had a penchant for the chase. Either way, the terms are blurry and it doesn’t really matter.

We will meet the disordered. That’s unavoidable. Estimates of those without conscience and empathy range from 1 in 100 (Checkley) to 1 in 25 (Stout). And if you get close to one, you will suffer. These are relationships of inevitable harm.

This morning, I woke up with an analogy on my mind…

View original post 1,390 more words

25 thoughts on “The story of a relationship with a narcissist: I Am Not Special by Hope

  1. sonofabeach96 says:

    Boy. Sometimes it’s as if you’re posting about my childhood. Whew! Hard to read sometimes! At least I was aware enough not to marry one, although my last long term relationship was with one. That was my turning point! She was selfish, demanding, and, come to find out, a serial cheater. Did quite the number on me, and I was happily single for over a year. Then I met my wife. But after that last girlfriend, I vowed to never go there again. Thank god I didn’t get her pregnant.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

