Surviving Depression: The Importance of Support.

Support is definitely what has kept me alive all these years. It’s so important but difficult to ask for when ur in a depression.

Journey to Disbelief

Cloud 1

When battling with the darkness that seems to seep through every fibre of your being, it can being an Everest of a task to cry for help.  When self-loathing is normal, when despair is standard and when hopelessness is eternal, it feels pointless to find help.  There have been many times when I felt I would be a burden and even worse I thought people were bored of my illness.  I thought people were thinking that I needed to just get over it and stop being so down.  There’s an intense amount of guilt associated with depression; I felt guilty for being unwell.  With this guilt comes a paranoia people are mentally rolling their eyes when I have another depressive episode.  So, managing to pick up the phone when despair is coming out through screams is a daunting task.

When I had a major meltdown recently I managed to pick…

View original post 403 more words

4 thoughts on “Surviving Depression: The Importance of Support.

  1. Just Plain Ol' Vic says:

    One thing I learned is that no one is strong enough to successfully deal with mental illness on their own.

    It is a HUGE positive in your favor that you have the family support that you do. Continue to take care of yourself and let others help care for you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

