Really Good Weekend!

Friday night I spent with my family celebrating my nephew’s 10th birthday. After the last few difficult weeks, it was really nice to just hang out with them, laugh, make fun of one another like we always do and just have a great time.  At one point, I was actually sitting in between my 2 brothers, which NEVER happens lol.  We don’t get to do it often enough lately with everyone busy with their own lives. So I really enjoyed myself and later realized how very much I needed to just BE with all of them.  They make me laugh, they bust my chops, they always manage to surprise me and rejuvenate my spirit. Like my one brother, who told me that my Mom has been speaking to him for a few years now!  My other brother and I just gawked at him open-mouthed, as he is a very black and white person and has NEVER ever said anything about this before lol.  I didn’t get to push him on the topic, as we were in a crowd of people, but you can be sure I will 🙂

Then Saturday I got my hair colored and blown out. It sucks getting older as you start getting gray streaks lol. I can’t really complain as I still look pretty young but that’s mostly genetics. I started to get a chest cold that afternoon but I ignored it as I had a friend’s 40th birthday bash to go to. My H wasn’t in the mood, which I totally understood. But he did drive me and pick me up so I could have a few cocktails, which I appreciated. Party was great and I had a lot of fun catching up with some friends. Mostly like a girl’s night as no one brought their hubbies lol.

Sunday I was in bed with my cold and slept a lot. Which actually was the best thing I could’ve done because it never went to bronchitis, which is usually what happens to me. So I just ate some ice cream and chicken soup for my throat and drank ginger ale. Very boring but definitely necessary.

Then today we went over to my MIL’s house to start getting ready for the huge estate/contents of house sale we are having in 2 weeks. Had a few antique dealers over to buy some things first. I did some research and between that and husband’s knowledge, we did pretty well. Everyone left happy and wanting more. I guess that’s a good thing. I know I was a lot more emotionally invested when it was my Mom’s stuff we were selling. But they have a lot of stuff and H has taken all the things that have meaning to him already. He handled it really well and I was proud of him. Then we had a fight over the new tv because we need to get an HDTV cable box and he didn’t listen to me when I told him. Just thought he could hook it up and then worry about it. but nope not going to work without an updated cable box hun lol. So we had to hook the old tv back up until we can get the new cable box this week. Oh well, at least it allowed us to pull the tv out and then I was able to clean the dust bunnies lurking back there.

Sometimes I forget to look at the bright side and be grateful for all the many blessings in my life.  I am truly fortunate and even though I’m still missing passion in my life, I know that either that changes in the very near future or difficult decisions will have to be made.  I refuse to live a life without great sex and passion any longer, no matter what.  Maybe it’s not important to some people but it is to me.  I have been patient for far longer than I should have.  But we have been through so much together and there is so much love between us.  If I could have the passion, joy and great sex with H that I had with P, I really don’t think I could ask for anything more.

21 thoughts on “Really Good Weekend!

  1. sonofabeach96 says:

    I’m assuming therapy is on hold for H right now? Allow him a bit of time to deal with his loss, then see what happens with therapy. I know I’ve recommended patience but this threw a curve ball. Wait a bit and see what happens is what I’d recommend to a friend. But I can appreciate ya beginning to put your foot down soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Megan says:

    You have a great family – can they adopt me?!

    Your hair looked AMAZING on Saturday, hot damn! Glad the party was fun.

    Talking of hair colour….I got all ready to go from brown to blonde, ready for a drastic change. Put the dye on, covered my head and waited 30 mins, only to discover I was still a brunette, only a lovely, meek, timid mousy-brown. Brilliant 😐

    Liked by 1 person

    • emmagc75 says:

      Sure but they’re also nuts lol. Thank you. I posted to FB as u suggested which definitely helped my ego lol. Old bfs commenting n everything lol. Yeah if I colored my hair myself it would probably be green 🙂 Gonna have to go to a professional! Worth the $$. Hugs xo!

      Like

Leave a Reply

