Critical Thinking

This post idea came about after talking with my friend n fellow blogger Son. https://sonofabeach96.wordpress.com

As someone who works in education, I see the lack of critical thinking every day. Not only in most of our students, but many parents and some teachers too. I went to Montessori nursery schools. They were expensive but my parents scraped the money together because my Mom loved how they teach you critical thinking at such a young age. These types of progressive schools open your mind to more than just ABCs. They give you a lifelong love of learning and a strong sense of self.

Critical thinking is the ability to think clearly and rationally about what to do or what to believe. It includes the ability to engage in reflective and independent thinking. Someone with critical thinking skills is able to do the following :

*understand the logical connections between ideas
*identify, construct and evaluate arguments
*detect inconsistencies and common mistakes in reasoning
*solve problems
*systematically identify the relevance and importance of ideas
*reflect on the justification of one’s own beliefs and values

Critical thinking is not a matter of accumulating information. A person with a good memory and who knows a lot of facts is not necessarily good at critical thinking. A critical thinker is able to deduce consequences from what he knows, and knows how to make use of information to solve problems, and to seek relevant sources of information to inform themself.

Critical thinking should not be confused with being argumentative or being critical of other people. Although critical thinking skills can be used in exposing fallacies and bad reasoning, critical thinking can also play an important role in cooperative reasoning and constructive tasks. Critical thinking can help us acquire knowledge, improve our theories, and strengthen arguments. We can use critical thinking to enhance work processes and improve social institutions.

Some people believe that critical thinking hinders creativity because it requires following the rules of logic and rationality, but creativity might require breaking rules. This is a misconception. Critical thinking is quite compatible with thinking “out-of-the-box”, challenging consensus and pursuing less popular approaches. If anything, critical thinking is an essential part of creativity because we need critical thinking to evaluate and improve our creative ideas.

The importance of critical thinking is huge. Critical thinking is a domain-general thinking skill. The ability to think clearly and rationally is important whatever we choose to do. If you work in education, research, finance, management or the legal profession, then critical thinking is obviously important. But critical thinking skills are not restricted to a particular subject area. Being able to think well and solve problems systematically is an asset for any career.

Critical thinking is very important in the new knowledge economy. The global knowledge economy is driven by information and technology. One has to be able to deal with changes quickly and effectively. The new economy places increasing demands on flexible intellectual skills, and the ability to analyse information and integrate diverse sources of knowledge in solving problems. Good critical thinking promotes such thinking skills, and is very important in the fast-changing workplace.

Critical thinking enhances language and presentation skills. Thinking clearly and systematically can improve the way we express our ideas. In learning how to analyse the logical structure of texts, critical thinking also improves comprehension abilities.

Critical thinking promotes creativity. To come up with a creative solution to a problem involves not just having new ideas. It must also be the case that the new ideas being generated are useful and relevant to the task at hand. Critical thinking plays a crucial role in evaluating new ideas, selecting the best ones and modifying them if necessary

Critical thinking is crucial for self-reflection. In order to live a meaningful life and to structure our lives accordingly, we need to justify and reflect on our values and decisions. Critical thinking provides the tools for this process of self-evaluation.

Good critical thinking is the foundation of science and democracy. Science requires the critical use of reason in experimentation and theory confirmation. The proper functioning of a liberal democracy requires citizens who can think critically about social issues to inform their judgments about proper governance and to overcome biases and prejudice.

23 thoughts on “Critical Thinking

  1. Jarrod C says:

    I agree with all the points made in your narrative. The system is broken. The business world does not want critical thinking. And it starts in the school system. People are taught to follow the rules, policies, and procedures blindly. Change is thought as bad and those that promote change and critical thinking are viewed as trouble makers and those that “do not know their place.” They are difficult to control and they upset the apple cart. Great strides in society were made by bucking the trends.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. XandrewX says:

    If you are support staff attached to a seat of learning, a University, you meet highly intelligent articulate individuals who are also skilled politicians although can I say lol, lack common sense sometimes, no matter! However this can create pressure I break no confidences when I say with the Group I’m part of there are, at last count! There are 6 senior Professors, many Doctor’s and ‘loads of’ Under Graduates from Colleges across Oxford, all good nice people however I’m always aware I work with exceptional minds, many I know and do go on to great things because with an Oxford Degree ‘one’s world is one’s oyster’, you only have to see Graduates who return for presentation lectures that these great minds go on to be Captains of Industry or influential Politicians on the world stage, good people but I sometimes find the environment a pressure maybe why I’m lol a nervous wreck. I can’t compete, there has to be a respectful distance but I have been told “you are a critical part” which was truly a nice compliment, I make things, I’m appreciated but lol I know my place! Sitting at the back of Group Meetings IS fascinating, watching observing the interpersonal relationships, NOT always pretty (people storm out!) and I hear ‘big’ words I never knew existed in polite conversation and because it’s cutting edge materials………well better not go further, anyways you’ve guessed by now I probably analyse my place tooo much, fascinating working in a teaching environment though.

    Liked by 1 person

        • emmagc75 says:

          Well I have always wanted to go to Oxford so heck yeah I’m a little in awe you get to work there. I’m not easily impressed as Matt Damon, Jay-Z and a few professional athletes could tell you lol. This was in the 90s. Matt Damon was too short n I had no idea who Jay-Z was but he was really nice. Bought me a drink n saved me from getting my ass kicked when my idiot friend dragged me to a club in the city. We were the ONLY white girls!!! Lol

          Liked by 1 person

          • XandrewX says:

            😉 party girl hey! I’m not sure if tourists get value for money in Oxford, we talk about his time to time, yes the City has fabulous building 13Century quads and all, however they all lie behind high walls and large oak doors with a Porter on guard AND NOT many allow into certain colleges me included lol. If someone was visiting England and asked me if Oxford was worth visiting, I’d say yes but better to go to Stratford or Blenheim Palace, all depends on what you enjoy seeing, I’m probably being disingenuous and take the City for granted. Cara asks me about where I live perhaps I’ll do some filming put it on my YouTube channel (not much there btw) and see what happens…….. Gropecunt Lane was popular!

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

