A Valuable Lesson I Learned In Life

A reblog of a post from earlier this year.
This may not be a pleasant truth but it is, indeed, a valuable lesson. I was always taught to be good to people and they will be good to you. And yes for the most part you do get back what you give. Unfortunately this IS NOT always the case.

Whether it be in relationships, friendships, coworkers, even a fellow blogger here on WordPress. Some people are just too self-absorbed, screwed up, depressed, moody, disrespectful or just plain weird to reciprocate our kindnesses.

Or even worse, some people mistake kindness for weakness. With me, this mistake is only made once lol. I am very kind but extremely strong and have no problem saying how I feel.

While we cannot control what others do or how they act, we can choose how we respond. Personally I wish them well, wallow for a day or 2, maybe blog about it or write in my journal and then thankfully once I have worked it through in my mind and heart, I just let it go.

Please remember just because someone does not treat you as you do them, it usually has very little to do with you. It is their own difficulties and issues. So just keep being who you are because you are special and wonderful.

Go where the love is 🙂

Positive Outlooks Blog

Life has taught me that you can’t control someone’s loyalty. No matter how good you are to them, doesn’t mean that they will treat you the same. No matter how much they mean to you, doesn’t mean that they’ll value you the same. Sometimes the people you love the most, turn out to be the people you can trust the least. — Trent Shelton

View original post

23 thoughts on “A Valuable Lesson I Learned In Life

  1. joicelizsabeth says:

    emmagc75 another great post. My husband used my kindness to destroy me maybe? Or was I just to weak to stop him. Love and kindness doesn’t conquer all.😕
    I love your blog site. I feel you in your writing. You make me 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • emmagc75 says:

      You’re still here so although he tried, he didn’t destroy you. And no, love and kindness doesn’t conquer all. But it keeps us going during the tough times. I’m so glad you like my blog. It’s just me, good and bad lol.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. laurelwolfelives says:

    Amen! What a wonderful post. I love these positive posts and responses…I’m usually so negative (and it’s pointed out) but I do get inspiration from lovely posts like these. Thank you so much. It always eases a little bit of my sorrow.

    Liked by 2 people

    • emmagc75 says:

      I’m glad they help. It’s unrealistic to expect to be positive 24/7. I just find focusing on laughter, joy and happiness helps me to see what really matters. We always found something to laugh about growing up in my family and we still do. Hugs to u!!

      Liked by 2 people

  3. angelmorals says:

    I always say… Nobody should be allowed to take your joy away… and that you can not control what others do but how you respond is what matters… However, people do mistake weakness and kindness. I believe in your in charge of what needs to get done… I had many people mistake my kindness and I always tell them… don’t cause its the kindness that makes me stronger not weaker…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. New Journey says:

    Well said…as I tried to teach my children.. Do no give your power to another…..if you let someone get under your skin per say… You give them the power to do so…..like you said its their issue not your own….

    Liked by 3 people

    • emmagc75 says:

      Absolutely! But sometimes you still need a day or 2 to lick your wounds lol. Like my Dad told my Mom n I “you feel more than most in this world and while I will never know the pain you feel, I also will never feel the joy.” He’s a smart man my Dad lol.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

